- The Design for Diversity Learning Toolkit - https://des4div.library.northeastern.edu -

Community of Focus

Design for Diversity materials are organized into seven different communities of focus. These are categories that attempt to make explicit the roles of race, gender, sexuality, ability status, ethnicity, religion, language, and other identifying traits in these materials. Please contact us if you have any feedback.

The seven communities of focus are:

African American and Black Communities [1]

This community includes African-American and other U.S. communities of the African and Black diaspora.

Asian American Communities [2]

This community includes Asian-American and other communities from one or more countries in Asia or of the Asian diaspora.

Indigenous Communities [3]

This community includes Indigenous and Native American communities and associated ways of knowing. This groups a great number of diverse nations under a single tag, so we welcome comments on whether the concerns of those nations (as colonized peoples) are similar enough to warrant one tag, or whether there are better ways to represent these peoples.

Latinx Communities [4]

This community includes Latinx communities who are of Latin American descent and the Latin American diaspora.

LGBTQ Communities [5]

This community includes the queer community in general, the transgender community, the non-binary community, and all types of sexualities and genders.

People with Disabilities [6]

This community includes disability or accessibility (as it relates to disability).

Women [7]

This community includes all people that identify as women.